Someone on Craigslist is selling this Kinetic bike trainer for $100. I was interested when I saw the title, but I thought Kurt Kinetic trainers were green and this looks wrong. Is this a knockoff? maybe kinetic

  • 1
    Could be the lighting and the photo - the right side certainly looks Dark Green to me. – Criggie Feb 28 '17 at 1:26
  • 3
    Insert <Famous blue/black/gold dress comment> here. – RoboKaren Feb 28 '17 at 5:47
  • 1
    There are several black examples in the results of an google image search for "Kurt kinetic original" so I'd guess it's real. – Ian Cook Feb 28 '17 at 8:51
  • Welcome to Bicycles @SLR. – andy256 Mar 2 '17 at 1:13
  • Observation - the leg on the right of the photo seems to be off the ground. Could it be bent? Or just not fully adjusted . – Criggie Mar 2 '17 at 5:48

Yes, it is a real Kinetic. The older Kinetics used to be black and had a much different logo. https://i.stack.imgur.com/z5X2Y.jpg

"But for some time now, I’ve been wondering how much different the Kurt Kinetic Road Machine is from my ‘old’ trainer. Well, it turns out that Kurt Kinetic hit on a winner with the original design… and except for a new ‘hair color’, the two units are nearly identical. Wisely, Kurt Kinetic decided to not fix something that isn’t broken." http://cycling-review.com/accessories/bicycle-trainer/kurt-kinetic-road-trainer/

| improve this answer | |
  • Excellent finding the answer and a good photo, and also for coming back and sharing it. +1 – Criggie Mar 2 '17 at 5:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.