39,973
reputation
2
61
175

Chris H

Most of my riding is on tarmac, for commuting and fun (which includes Audax) but I do a little MTB as well as taking the tourer on gravel. The only person I compete with is myself. I have quite an interest in making cycling available and appealing to everyone.

My Eddington Number is 74 (in miles).

Me on Strava.

I mainly ride solo or with Audax Club Bristol, but also with Avon Outdoor Activities Club.

n = 3 (and a bit). I now have:

  • a Genesis Tour de Fer 10 (2017)
  • a GT traffic hybrid (2010ish) with child seat
  • a Saracen Tufftrax disc comp 29er hardtail (2017)
  • a Raleigh Michigan (rigid MTB, 1992) The back wheel died.
  • a Universal Wildthing Blowout (stupid name if you ask me). It's essentially a BSO clone of the Raleigh, and all other 90s no-sus MTBs. But for a bike that lives outdoors in a high-theft area and doesn't go far it works for me. More dead bearings.

I also look after the family's bikes including a kid's bike and a trailer, and do most of my own maintenance, and even small jobs for the neighbours' kids. I seem to end up modifying components and accessories quite a lot, or making custom parts like brackets and luggage.


Any code of mine that I publish anywhere on stackexchange.com I hereby place in the public domain to the extent governable by law. Explicitly, I place it under the CC0. This also applies to documentation/instructions etc.

Opinions I post are mine and mine only unless clearly stated.

Attribution (especially if I say anything clever) is appreciated where reasonable - but specifically not demanded.

666
answers
68
questions
~2.3m
people reached
  • UK
  • Member for 7 years, 11 months
  • 2,136 profile views
  • Last seen 8 hours ago

Top tags (306)

Score 271
Posts 58
Posts % 8
Score 243
Posts 47
Score 235
Posts 47
Score 191
Posts 33
Score 157
Posts 28
Score 141
Posts 30

Top posts (734)

View all questions and answers

Badges (238)

Gold

2

Rarest

Silver

61

Rarest

Bronze

175

Rarest